History - BMX Australia 1993

BMX Australia Inc.

President - Rod Brown
Vice President - Ian Telfer
Executive Director - Rob Ferguson
Secretary - Julie Hayes
Treasurer - Abe Schneider
Board Members - Cary Jennings, Rosa Howell, Ross Fisher
National Coaching Director - Sean Scott
National Registrar - Robyn Robinson

April 1993

The Australian BMX National Championships were held at Blue Lake, Mt Gambier, VICTORIA. Event major sponsor was the Commonwealth Bank. Anthony "Howie" Waye wins his 3rd consecutive Pro-Am Title




August 1993

The 3rd combined IBMXF/FIAC World Championships  were held in Schijndel, Holland. 35 countries participated with a total of 2128 entries. Australia only had a total of 13 entries for the event. The event was held on a temporary track built only for these World Titles. Unfortunately a lot of rain turned the track and surrounding areas into a mud bath. The quality of the track was again, not up to world standard. The event was filmed and broadcast later on Television. Australia produced only the one World Champion at this event, with Tanya Burrows repeating her win from the previous year to take out the 16 Girls Class. Australia finished well down the medal tally, finishing 9th overall. (France 1st, Holland 2nd, USA 3rd).

16 Girls - Tanya Burrows, World Champion

logo bmxa
Old School BMX Sponsor Logo
Video services supplied by: